Tuesday, November 9, 2010

MARINERS: Gutierrez and Ichiro win Gold Gloves

In a season that didn’t go right, the Mariners have found something positive.

A well deserving Franklin Gutierrez and Ichiro Suzuki have won the 2010 AL Gold Gloves for centerfielder and right fielder. This is Ichiro’s 10th straight, while this is Franklin’s 1st one. The Mariners currently have a streak of 24 seasons with at least one Gold Glover on the team, largely contributed to Ken Griffey Jr. and Ichiro.

To Continue...

As you might have guessed, this is nothing new to Ichiro. His raw speed in the outfield is the main reason why he has gotten 10 Gold Gloves out of 10 seasons in the Majors. Ichiro is currently tied with Griffey for most in Mariners history. He is tied for 3rd on the all time list of Gold Glovers, with only Willie Mays and Roberto Clemente ahead of him (12 each).

Franklin Gutierrez is a different story. He is commonly referred as “death to flying things” and has an uncanny ability to know where the ball is going to be exactly when it is hit. He broke a Major League record when he didn’t commit an error in Center Field all season, going a perfect 415/415 in all his chances. Because of all this, and much more, players and coaches alike awarded him his 1st Gold Glove award. He should have had won last year, but the Gold Glove award is largely a popularity contest, as evident by Derek Jeter getting one at 36 years old and having lost a step.

American League Gold Gloves
Catcher: Joe Mauer (Twins)
First base: Mark Teixeira (Yankees)
Second base: Robinson Cano (Yankees)
Shortstop: Derek Jeter (Yankees)
Third base: Even Longoria (Rays)
Outfield: Ichiro Suzuki (Mariners), Carl Crawford (Rays), Franklin Gutierrez (Mariners)
Pitcher: Mark Buehrle (White Sox)

Reach Nathan Parsons at nathanparsons98@yahoo.com